Made with simple ingredients (sweet white bean paste and glutinous rice flour), wagashi can be enjoyed by vegans, vegetarians, and Muslims alike! And don’t be fooled by the name “glutinous rice flour” because this wagashi class is actually gluten-free!
A delicious and aesthetically-pleasing plant-based treat, wagashi are very traditional Japanese sweets that pair best with a cup of tea, and often accompany the Japanese tea ceremony. This Wagashi Making Class includes making matcha tea, a simple method which is easy to do at home with the right tools. Learning to make wagashi is a beautiful way to connect to Japanese culture and create something that is steeped in centuries of history and traditions. Often, wagashi reflect the current season with motifs such as cherry blossoms and maple leaves. It’s almost too beautiful to eat, and as an added bonus it’s naturally vegetarian, vegan, and Halal!
Multilingual teaching materials (Japanese, English, Chinese)
All ingredients and tools to make wagashi
Japanese matcha green tea
2 wagashi (Japanese sweets)
Meeting Point and Meeting Time
Koshien Takashio-cho 3-3, Nishinomiya, Hyogo 663-8166
We will meet in front of the elevator on the 1st floor of Corowa Koshien. This building is located on the right side of the west exit of Koshien Station on the Hanshin Line.
Please meet 10 minutes before the activity start time.
Ingredient Information: Wagashi (Japanese sweets) are made from plant ingredients such as beans, rice flour, sugar.
Wagashi are safe for vegetarians, vegans, and Muslims alike!
If you would like a Chinese-speaking tour guide, please write this in the additional notes section of the payment page.